Queen's Birthday Honours List

Penleigh and Essendon Grammar School was thrilled to learn that Mr Robert Gottliebsen was named in Queen’s Birthday Honours list as a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for his services to journalism and “education through school governance roles”.

Mr Gottliebsen is a former student of Essendon Grammar School. He joined the Board of Management of Essendon Grammar School in 1973 and moved to the Board of the combined school in 1977. He has been a Board member during the tenure of three Principals - Rev Bert Stevens, Mrs Rae Pierce and Tony Larkin - and five Board Chairmen - Mr Finlay McNab, Mr George Gilbertson, Dr Laurie Williams, Mr Bruce Henderson and, of course, himself.

During these forty-five years on the Board, Mr Gottliebsen over overseen the establishment of the PEGS Development Foundation which has funded much of the recent development of the school without burdening the school with debt. He was a Board member who supported the acquisition of the school’s campsite at Eildon, the land for the Keilor Park sports complex and sites in Fletcher Street which have allowed the expansion of the Junior School (boys). The Middle School (boys) was named in his honour in 2013.

Mr Gottliebsen’s two children attended the school and he currently has three grandchildren at the school. His contribution to the school is without peer and he is a deserved recipient of this Queen’s Birthday Honour. The school would have been great diminished if it were not for Mr Gottliebsen’s extraordinary work and input. Our congratulations have been passed onto Mr Gottliebsen and his family.